Faith and Trust

My faith has been a part of me for half of my life. Literally.  For some, faith is something that comes out of storage and is shown only on certain holidays.  For others, faith is something that is not for them at all.  Yet, for others like me, it is a part of my day-t0-day existence.

My faith is sometimes the outer garment I wear and others can see it.  A lot of times, my faith is something that I wear closer to the skin, underneath everything else I wear, it is something that I feel.

Faith isn’t as mystical as some believe, ya know.  You place faith in the coffee company that makes the non-fat, triple latte you drink in the morning; that all you are getting is skim milk and coffee.   You place faith in the bus driver who takes your children to school every day.

Faith and trust are pretty close in meaning.  Each word has the other in its definition. Each word means to have a hope, a conviction, a belief.  That’s what I have; hope, belief, and conviction that the life I am living, the journey I am on, is more than just one breath after another, one foot after another until the day I die.

My life, my one life, is meant to be so much more.  I don’t want to be known for the next latest-greatest medical breakthrough.  I don’t even want to be the next Mother of the Year.  I want to make sure that when I take my last step, breathe my last breath, that the legacy I leave behind is one of a constant faith, that has impacted me and those around me for the better.   Everything else is just extra.

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

