Another Day, Another Choice

I live on a farm; an idyllic, wide-open farm with cows and the like. I even have my own vegetable garden. As much as farms are serene and quiet, they are also full of hard work.
To cut the grass I must use a walk-behind mower as my riding mower needs some TLC. There is weeding to be done, plants to put in the garden once they have grown from seeds, trees to trim during the winter, all sorts of things.
It is similar to my walk of Faith. Sure, I can have a look of peace and serenity on my face, but that doesn’t mean things are easy. I need to be in prayer, asking God for wisdom and understanding when I have situations that once would have had me swearing a blue streak. I need to “weed” out the junk in my life that does not last, the stuff that will take over if not kept in check. I need to honor the area that God has given me to care for and I need to make sure I do it correctly-not half-heartedly or slapping it together just to get it done.
My faith is a daily choice; am I going to react to the world around me or am I going to choose to engage with others where they are and where I am as well?
I am pretty awful on my own, without God’s help. I have a tendency to fly off the handle, yell, scream, and even swear when I am angry. It is rather ugly, especially to me. With God’s help I can remember to take a deep breath, pray for wisdom, help, or whatever I need, and then respond appropriately.
It isn’t easy and sometimes I blow it and have to apologize to the person with whom I blew it.
It is another step on my journey of faith. Sometimes it’s a step forward and sometimes it’s a step backward, but in the end, I know that I am a person in process and that God has plans for me.  See Jeremiah 29:11 and Lamentations 3:22-24 for more encouragement.

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

