Fires and Faith

I am doing the Beth Moore study on Daniel through my church.  This is my 4th study with “Miss Beth.”  I have also studied David, Believing God, and Breaking Free.  Believing God was powerful and encouraging; reminding me why I was a Christian in the first place. Breaking Free helped me let go of the spider web tangles from my past.  Daniel, though– Daniel is exciting to me.
There are certain parts of the book of Daniel that challenge and encourage me a lot.  The idea that Daniel, Shadrach, Meshach, and Abednego were roughly 15-18 years old, according to Bible scholars, when they stood up to the king of Babylon really kicks me in the pants.  I am 42 almost and these four young men were risking their lives for their faith when they were less than half my age. Whew.

One of my other favorite parts of Daniel is the story in chapter 4 where Nebuchadnezzar gets a major lesson on WHO is in charge and who is allowed to be in charge.  It amazes me how we all need to be reminded that our pride, when left unchecked, is a one way ticket to humility.  Miss Beth said in the video portion for session 3 that we should all want to get the lesson from the book and not from a field trip like Nebuchadnezzar did.

My faith is one thing that I need. I need it like I need air, food, shelter, clothing, and love. Sometimes I think I need my faith more than the five basic needs.  I want to live it out loud to help others see God’s hand in the world, but sometimes I think I need to live it more in the quiet.  I need to live my faith out in my day-to-day routine; washing dishes, doing laundry, sweeping up the dog hair that always seems to be in the corners.
God gave me this one life, it is for His glory or for His dishonor that I will live it.  I pray I will always give Him the glory.

I don’t know if I will ever stand next to a roaring furnace. I think for those of us who live here in our own kind of Babylon, we will be faced with small fires; ones that don’t seem significant at the time.  In the end however, we may be faced with the sorrow and guilt of having not stood up when everyone else bowed down.  Shadrach said it best when he told Nebuchadnezzar, “If we are thrown into the blazing furnace, the God we serve is able to deliver us from it, and he will deliver us from Your Majesty’s hand. BUT EVEN IF HE DOES NOT, we want you to know, Your Majesty, that we will not serve your gods or worship the image of gold you have set up (Daniel 3:17-18 NIV, caps mine).”

We may not know when the little fires show up in our lives, but we will certainly stand by them at some point.  We also will need to know how we will respond, before we feel the flames. I, for one, am choosing to stand.

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

