Just when you thought it was safe…

So I went to my Daniel study today, I had to miss last week and was anxious to get back to our discussion table.  I am blessed to have met some wonderful ladies; Shelley, Lynn, Gwen, Michelle, and Chris.  The format is relaxed, conversational, and open.  We were encouraged from the first week to sit at the same table so we could build into one another as the weeks went on.  Building into one another has been almost seamless and I love it.

This week we discussed Daniel 6 and prepared to study Daniel 7 in the upcoming week.  Beth Moore was talking about the Ancient of Days as described in Daniel 7:9-10.  He sits on a throne flaming with fire and its wheels are ablaze.  Miss Beth described the throne as a combination throne and chariot.  She brought to mind the image of God being on the throne all the time.  He never leaves the throne unoccupied.  She joked that it just proves that the seat of authority is already taken.  We aren’t in charge!!

My situation has not changed since last week.  I haven’t won the lottery , I don’t have a job, we haven’t been given a long-lost inheritance, and we are still in danger of losing everything.  Somehow though, being reminded that I am not in charge, and that I need to let go of what I thought I was in charge of, seems to be prevalent in my life-lesson today.

When I came home my husband received a call that our renters were going to have to be evicted. REALLY GOD???  I had just agreed with Lynn, that I needed to remember that I was not in control and here 2 hours later I was being challenged about it.

I have spent the better half of the day in near tears, wanting to just go to sleep to escape the situation for  a little while, but unable to shut off my mind.  I cannot fix this situation either.  I have mentally handed it off to God and pleaded with Him to help.

I don’t give it to Him lightly–I just quickly recognize that this yoke is WAY to heavy for me.  I cannot carry it.  Jesus can though, He said in Matthew 11:28-29, “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.”  My soul definitely and without a doubt needs rest.

God is capable of all things, I know that.  I have seen it, I cling to it all the time.  In Ephesians 3:17-21 it says, “And I pray that you, being rooted and established in love, may have power together with all the saints, to grasp how wide and long and high and deep is the love of Christ, and to know this love that surpasses knowledge that you may be filled to the measure of all the fullness of God.  Now to him who is able to do immeasurable more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us, to him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, for ever and ever! Amen.”

God will provide, He is presently providing.  A dear friend said to me today that when it seems like God is taking a long time, it is because He has planned something big and amazing that will blow my mind.  I have seen Him do it in Scripture and I have seen Him do it in my time.  I am trusting and I am hanging on.  I hope you are doing the same.

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

