Milk and Honey

It’s been 14 months since I left my last job.  Over the last year I have applied to over 200 jobs: some were in education, some in sales, some office/administration.  I really wanted some of the jobs I applied for, others were just for the sake of drawing a paycheck–something to have some money coming into the house.

Out of all of the applications I had only 5 interviews; 2 of those asked me to come back for a second interview…in the end–the 5th interview hired me.  I start tomorrow, working part-time 20-24 hours a week.  The hours are in the afternoon so I will still be able to see the boys off to school in the morning.

My mother-in-law lives with us so I know there will be someone here when they get off the bus until I get home.  I am a bit anxious about the job and what I will need to do.

I have never held an Administrative Assistant position, although I have done many of the tasks in various other positions I have held.  I am also excited because I will be able to use some of my writing skills.

My job will be working for a community outreach ministry, something that is dear to my heart.  I am praying I will do well and that I will remember the verse in Colossians 3:23-24 that says, “Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for men.  Since you know that you will receive an inheritance from the Lord as a reward.  It is the Lord Christ you are serving.”

I pray I will trust God for all of the things I will not be able to control because I will be somewhere else.  In my heart, I am a house-wife, domestic goddess, wannabe farmer and gardener.  Leaving my house to work outside the home is something that I want to do, but don’t really want to do if I don’t have to do it.  It sounds a bit like Paul’s dilemma in Romans, but I am choosing to take my step of faith and trust God for the rest.

My time of wandering in the desert seems to be coming to an end, finally I am in the land of Milk and Honey…

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

