To everything there is a season

Today at church I heard Henry Cloud speak about endings and beginnings.  It seemed so true to the season my husband and I are in right now.  We are experiencing some successes and some struggles and occasionally a lot of struggles.

My new job is going well.  I feel like I am contributing but I also am still behind in knowing who the different people are and what their tasks are within the ministry.  I am blessed with co-workers who come alongside me and help me when I have no idea how to do something.

I am a freak about organization and the different things I am required to do are lacking organization.  I have been working for the past two weeks getting things in a more structured, streamlined order–thereby making me a better employee. It may sound weird, but the more organized I am, the better employee I will be for the ministry.

At home the boys seem to be doing okay while I am gone.  I miss them though while I am away.  Summer break is one of my favorite things to share with the boys and for the first time in their whole lives I have had to miss part of it.  I hate that.  I am praying for them while I am gone that they are having a good time and behaving well.

Our old house hasn’t sold yet.  It’s been a year and we are now on our 3rd realtor.  Our house was rented for 3 months and the renters trashed it and then we evicted them.  We had to tear out and replace all of the carpeting in the house and spent over 50 hours cleaning the mess they made.  It was hard to see my house like that, I am a neat/clean freak as well and I felt violated.

I am not doing well lately when it comes to being still and quiet.  I am tired when I wake  up and I often feel like I have to rush to get things done in the morning before I go to work.  When I am still I feel myself nodding off, so I get up and start doing more stuff and the next thing I know it’s late and I need to go to bed only to repeat the process the next day.

I know what I need to do, but it is hard to get past the “crisis” of the moment to do what I should be doing first.

My season of letting go of what should be let go and of embracing what needs to be embraced has to be found.  Any suggestions?  I do know when I make a list it best helps me see my day. I think I need to go back to that.

To everything there is a season and a purpose under Heaven (Ecclesiastes 3:1-8).  May I recognize the seasons and embrace them — not push them away.  Help me, Lord.

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

