New Beginnings

So I posted about the New Beginnings that Dr. Henry Cloud talked about last week.  I have been challenged lately by the fact that I am still not in charge.  I hate not being in charge, it makes me feel like I am without a rudder. 

Our family is still not out of the proverbial woods with all that has happened in the last year.  Every time I think I see daylight, I realize it isn’t the edge of the woods, it’s just a clearing. 

Today I spoke with a few people about the things that must be done to make a difference.  Not a world changing difference–just a difference within our home.  It isn’t easy to hear difficult things and it is even harder to implement them.  My personality is pretty laid back and I would rather go-with-the-flow than try to paddle upstream.  I hate that part of me sometimes, I want to challenge the way things are, but then I second guess myself. 

There is a new song on the Christian radio station I listen to, called “Beautiful Things” by Gungor.   The chorus says, ” You make beautiful things, You make beautiful things out of the dust, You make beautiful things, You make beautiful things out of us.”  I hear it a lot and I keep clinging to the promise in those words. 

My 14th anniversary is next week.  On our wedding invitations my husband and I had the verse from 1 Corinthians 2:9 which says, “No eye has seen, no ear has heard, no mind has conceived what God has prepared for those who love him.” 

I have been blessed with people who seem to have the words God wants  me to hear at just the right time…every time. 

So here’s to a new year; a new school  year for my boys, a new year of marriage with my husband, and a new year of walking with God.  What a journey.

 

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

