Habits and routines

The boys are back in school and that means the routine for school has been set in place again.

Every morning before they get on the bus the boys and I sit on the couch in the front room, the “Book Room” as they call it, and we pray for the day.  We ask that God will go beside, behind, and before them, protecting them.  We pray for the teachers, staff, and administration too.

As part of the prayer time we also lift up the prayer needs of others; my brother-in-law who is in Afghanistan, as well as a friend’s son, also in Afghanistan.  In the mornings when we pray they are finishing their day and when the boys and I pray at night it is morning in Afghanistan.  We also pray for those in our circle who are pregnant, sick, or injured.  It is one of my favorite habits to share with the boys.

While the boys wait at the end of the driveway for the bus, I sit in my rocking chair on the porch and do my devotions.  I have been reading My Utmost for His Highest and I read a chapter of Proverbs each day.  I get out of the habit during the summer so it feels good to get back in the custom of time with God.

I love the structure of the school year.  I know what to expect, what to do and when to do it, I feel more in control and even more protected by the day-to-day schedule.  The one thing about the routine of prayer is that prayer shouldn’t become routine.  I want my prayer time to fresh, deep, challenging, and inspiring according to the situation.

How do you keep your prayer time fresh?  What kinds of techniques do you use to stay close to God?  I would love to know, so share your ideas with me.

Until then, taking one more step on the journey.

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

