Weeds versus plants

this was supposed to be lavender

So this summer I planted a dozen different herbs and plants near the back door of the house so I could use them when I was cooking. The only ones to successfully grow were the cilantro and basil. I had planted lavender in a pot that could come inside during the winter, hoping that I could use the leaves and flowers in tea and potpourri.
A plant started growing and I was excited to see it bloom. I love the romantic part of lavender; I think it comes from my love of classic literature from Jane Austen and the Bronte sisters.

As I watched this plant growing I started to wonder though if I wasn’t just growing a weed that looked like a plant.

See, if I was just nurturing a weed that looked like a plant, it was not going to give me the very thing I wanted to grow. Weeds are like that. They look the same as plants when they are young and only when it comes time to harvest is it evident that what I have grown is a weed. Weeds take up space, nutrients, and energy from me as I protect it and pull the weed around it. I can recognize many weeds but not all of them. When it comes to things like this, I find that I need to have studied the real plants identity so I can see what is the real plant and what is the weed. Anyone else find that they have grown weeds when they wanted to grow plants?

herbs that bring life

In my faith walk I need to study the character of Christ; His way of loving, teaching, rebuking, and encouraging others. If I don’t know intimately the way Christ would act if He were in my place, then I might follow after false teaching. I would end up growing weeds in my flower beds.

One of the first verses I learned as a new believer was Micah 6:8, “He has showed you O man, what is good. And what does the LORD require of you? To act justly and to love mercy and to walk humbly with your God.”
This is my desire; to walk humbly with God and grow plants that have a harvest, that make a difference, and provide life.

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

