Trees and Chaff

Living on a farm I know a bit about chaff. Chaff is the stuff that doesn’t get used when the combine processes the soybeans and corn. The beans and corn kernels go into the hopper attached to the combine/tractor, but the chaff is the stuff that shoots out the back of the tractor and covers the field. Chaff is worthless, useless, like the wrapper of a candy bar. Who wants to eat the wrapper? The candy bar is where you find the worth.
Trees grow tall, full of life, offering shelter, providing fruit and food for those who eat it. Trees are the ultimate symbol of life. There was a Tree of Life in the Garden of Eden and there will be a Tree of Life in Heaven. There are a dozen references to the Tree of Life in the Bible and 17 references to chaff. Each verse reaffirms the desire we should have for being a tree and not chaff.
My pastor shared the message of Psalm 1 today; as Christians, in order to continue to grow as trees, we need to decide what will give us life and help us grow and keep it in our lives. If we don’t choose to radically remove the unnecessary, life draining things from our lives we will deaden our souls. A dead soul cannot sustain life; it’s that simple.
I cannot claim to know what will bring life or death to everyone else’s soul, but I certainly know what will deaden my soul. If I spend more time watching TV in the morning or reading everyone’s status on Facebook instead of using that time to fill my heart and mind with God’s Word, I find that I am less likely to hear Heaven’s promptings during the day. I also find that I am more cranky with my children, husband, anyone really.
If I spend even 15 minutes reading a chapter of Proverbs and the daily devotion of My Utmost for His Highest I am more grounded, even more steady in my day. I used to think I had to spend hours in my quiet time–like I had when I was single; that is such a lie. The amount of time I spend is important, but there isn’t a minimum requirement.
The requirement for prayer/quiet time is that you do it!!!
I want my children to learn that God is worth it. That a life lived with God’s purposes as the priority will never be a life wasted. I want to live a life with a soul that is awake and alive, full of things that bring and sustain life.

Awake, my soul, and sing
of him who died for thee,
and hail him as thy matchless King
through all eternity.
(Crown Him with Many Crowns)

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

