Intercession

Prayer has been forefront in my life lately.  I have had an ache, a pulling like strings were attached to my heart, as a marionette, toward the need to pray for others. 

I have posted on my Facebook page that I am willing to pray for others if they are willing to share their needs.  I have been surprised by some of the requests and my heart has ached for those who are requesting. 

Even as I pray for each person, and yes, I am truly praying for them, I feel blessed for the privilege to approach God’s throne on their behalf.  Hebrews 4:16 says, “Let us approach the throne of grace with confidence, so that we may reeive mercy and find grace to help us in our time of need.”

In doing my study, A Woman’s Heart God’s Dwelling Place,  I am learning so much about prayer and I thought I knew a lot.  The altar of incense that was in the Tabernacle described in the book of Exodus, is used as an image of how our prayers are lifted to Heaven.  Each prayer we pray is a sweet fragrance to God. What an image! 

My prayers for friends and family, most recently my mother-in-law who has breast cancer, have been a sweet fragrance to God!! He loves to hear His children’s voices calling to Him. 

As a parent, and quite a human one at that, I cannot say that every time my children call my name I am happy to hear them.  But God loves His children and what is happening in their lives matters to Him.

Praying for others is one of the most amazing things I have the privilege to do.  So to those who have asked for healing in their homes, healing in their bodies, wisdom for decisions, and help as a parent; know that I am on my knees on your behalf.  Prayer matters.  Just read what Paul had to say to the church of Ephesus in Ephesians 3:14-21; it fits for you and it fits for me. 

“For this reason I kneel before the Father, from whom his whole family in heaven and on earth derives its name.  I pray that out of his glorious riches he may strengthen you with power through his Spirit in your inner being, so that Christ may dwell in our hearts through faith.  And I pray that you being rooted and established in love, may have power, together with all the saints, to grasp how wide and long and high and deep is the love of Christ, and to know this love that surpasses knowledge-that you may be filled to the measure of all the fullness of God. 

Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine according to his power that is at work within us, to him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations for ever and ever! Amen .”

And Amen.

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Intercession

  1. Thank you for what you are doing. Please pray for Tom. He has stage 4 cancer, and is trying to decided how hard to fight right now. Please also pray for the strength of the family.

  2. Mom says:

    Hi Hon. Pray that Stormie OMartian’s book will continue to bless….. it’s being accepted. PTL

Leave a Reply

