Legacies

I received an e-mail today from my son’s small group leader.  He was introducing himself and his co-leader to the parents and sharing some of the upcoming events for the small group.  I wrote back and told him that I was glad he was the leader and that I would be praying for them.

As a former student leader I immediately thought of my 6th grade girls.  I was a co-leader with a girl named Tish and together we taught, prayed with, challenged, and encouraged approximately a dozen girls in 1996-1997.   I think of them often, wondering how they are, what they are doing.  Are they married?  Are they happy with their decisions?

I remember the competitions we had with other groups in the junior high ministry we were connected with at the time.  We’d have tug-of-wars with other teams and try to win points for our team.  When it was time for the message we’d all gather together in the auditorium, standing to hear the Word read to us.  Students would call out the repetitive “hats” to remind each other to remove their baseball caps in respect to the Scripture being read.

Toward the end of the year we gathered together to listen to a message on purity.  As leaders we were given cards that said, “You are a gift.”  As I gave a card to each girl I spoke a word of blessing over them, encouraging them to remember they were worth the wait.  I was getting married and moving away so I wouldn’t be with the girls next year.

One of my girls named Tammy asked me about kissing.  She trusted me and my answer.  I prayed for wisdom and shared what I thought was the best answer for her at the sweet age of 12.  When she has come to mind over the past 14-15 years I have prayed for her. Asking God for her protection and hoping that she is still walking with Him.

Legacies are tough.  What one person may want to leave as a legacy can be the total opposite of what they are actually remembered for; the recent news coverage of college coaches proves that.

Nichole Nordeman is a Christian recording artist who has a song called Legacy.  It describes what she hopes to be remembered for when she is gone:

“I want to leave a legacy
How will they remember me?
Did I choose to love? Did I point to You enough
To make a mark on things?
I want to leave an offering
A child of mercy and grace who
blessed Your name unapologetically
And leave that kind of legacy”

My son’s leaders are making a legacy right now.  My prayer is that when my son is an adult he will think back to his two leaders and remember the example they lived and strive to live a life for the Glory of God.  Just like his leaders.

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

