Hope

I love the word Hope.  It encourages, it makes me want to take another breath, wake up in the morning, and try, try, again.

My Bible’s dictionary/concordance says that Hope is “the anticipation of something good.”  Isn’t that just what Hope is?

By nature, I am a hopeful person, sometimes literally hope-full.  It’s one of the traits that I am grateful to have from day-to-day.  Hope helps me remember that the situation I am in is not the situation I am stuck in forever.

Two of my great-grandmothers had pictures hanging in their homes, that now hang in mine.  In the picture is a person clinging to a stone cross while the seas crash and foam all around the Cross.  It is evident that no matter what the person in the picture experiences his or her hands will not let go of the Cross.  It is their Salvation, their Hope, their Faith, their everything.

My hope in Christ allows me to relax and let go of the things that could overwhelm me and cause me to fear.  Hope causes my heart to sing, my smiles are deeper and my joy is complete.

Michael Card, one of my favorite Christian artists, has a song called Hope from his album Poiema.  The song is loaded with Scripture, especially Isaiah 40:31, “but those who hope in the LORD will renew their strength.  They will soar on wings like eagles they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.”

Here are the lyrics to Michael Card’s song Hope:

“Hope has been woven throughout all creation,
An anchor that holds through the waves.
Hope is the helmet of each noble soldier,
For only the warrior who hopes can be brave.

Hope that you can see is really no hope at all,
And like children you see faces in the clouds.
We hopefully listen to the silence of life,
And find in it His shouting out loud.

And though your life may seem to sound a dark and minor key,
It will someday shift itself to major,
And the lyric of your life will rhyme with nothing less than joy,
And you will find that hope is from the One that you believe.

Hope is an echo in the air all around you;
It is the sound of heaven’s symphony.
The hope that is Jesus will never disappoint us;
It tenderly tells us: to hope is to believe.

Hope you in the Lord and renew your strength,
Soar you up on eagle’s wings.
Tirelessly run the long race that’s set before you-
Your life’s the song the Father sings.”

Cling to the Hope that can be found in Christ alone.  You will never be sorry.

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

