More

In this season of “gotta-get” I find myself reminded that instead of “gotta-get” I need to look around a bit more and see that I “got-enough.”  Even if I don’t get another present, that’s okay.  Sure, it would seem weird to many, but I don’t need more stuff.

I have hundreds of books in my home.  If I didn’t buy another one, I can go check one out at the library–for free.

If I never buy another DVD, I can  check one out at the library for free.  I might have to wait for a while or put my name on a list if it’s a popular movie, but patience is good.

I am not a clothes horse by nature, so shopping for new clothes is not a top priority.  I still have clothes in good condition from more than 15 years ago.  Blue jeans do tend to look a bit ratty after prolonged wear, but there’s a thrift shop in town and their prices are quite reasonable.

I don’t need another CD, I can listen to music on the radio for free.

What I do need though, is more love, more grace, more mercy, more patience.  I need to love people where they are and walk with them through whatever situation they are in.  I need to bring up my children in the way they should go, so when they are old they will not depart from it.

I need to love my husband better.  I need to love him in a way that feeds his soul and spirit–not in a way that makes others think better of me.  It isn’t their opinion that matters, it is his heart that does matter.

I also need to love my God more.  I don’t mean in a “do I have to?” sort of way, but because it is a yearning in my heart to love God more today than yesterday.

“More love to thee, O Christ, more love to thee! Hear thou the prayer I make on bended knee.   This is my earnest plea: More love, O Christ, to thee; more love to thee, more love to thee! 

Once earthly joy I craved, sought peace and rest; now thee alone I seek, give what is best.  This all my prayer shall be: More love, O Christ, to thee; more love to thee, more love to thee! 

 Let sorrow do its work, come grief and pain; sweet are thy messengers, sweet their refrain, when they can sing with me: More love, O Christ, to thee; more love to thee, more love to thee! 

 Then shall my latest breath whisper thy praise; this be the parting cry my heart shall raise; this still its prayer shall be: More love, O Christ, to thee; more love to thee, more love to thee!”

~~MORE LOVE TO THEE  written by Elizabeth Prentiss

What do you need more of this year?

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in growing pains and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

