Water

B&W cow pump

an old, unusable pump on the farm

I live in a 100 year old farmhouse.  It is as idyllic as one could imagine.  The house is on a 160 acre parcel of land my grandfather bought 45 years ago.  Pastoral, peaceful, serene–all sorts of words that describe living here.

As is typical of a century old farmhouse, the water comes from a well.  If you are familiar with this, then you also know that our sinks, commodes, and shower are orange.  Kind of a rusty-orange actually.  No matter my best efforts at cleaning, I have orange in my bathrooms.

Every couple weeks, sometimes more, I will diligently take a cleanser like ZUD and scrub away at the stains.  It takes time and some definite scrubbing to remove the rust.  Afterwards, the sinks, commodes, and the shower are once again white, even squeaky clean.  I love it.  But then I know that as soon as I start using the water in the bathroom again, the whiteness will start to turn orange again.  See, if I don’t change the source of the water, the outcome will remain the same.

In our faith walk we need to have the right source as well.  “If anyone is thirsty, let him come to me and drink (John 7:37).”  John 7:38 says, “Whoever believes in me, as the Scripture has said, streams of living water will flow from within him.”  The water I need when I am thirsty must come from the Source of Living Water.

Once you change your source then you can rejoice in Isaiah 43:18-19, “Forget the former things; do not dwell on the past.  See I am doing a new thing!  Now it springs up; do you not perceive it?  I am making a way in the desert and streams in the wasteland.”  Only God can make the impossible possible.

Are you thirsty?  I know the Source of some amazing water.

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Water

  1. L. Dean Hufsey says:

    Great Devotional thought for the day, Gretchen!!

    Keep up the Good Work—–encouraging words!

    And, Bless you, my little sister!

    Dean

  2. I’m a very long time watcher and I just imagined I’d stop by and say hi for the first time. I seriously appreciate your posts. Thank you http://www.ctctradeshows.com

Leave a Reply

