Blessings

the cover of our journal

When my husband and I got married one of our wedding presents was a journal.  Now– I am a writer by nature.  I have written poems, short stories, and such since I was in junior high.  A new journal gave me a sense of excitement.  I couldn’t wait to fill it.

Our journal is called our Blessings Journal.  In it, I have written every time God has blessed us; monetarily, relationally, spiritually, however He chooses.

A lot of my entries are related to finances.  Like the time that we went from -$140.42 in our checkbook due to a subtraction error only to have $1000.51 in the account two weeks later.  Only God!

Or the time when we bought our first house but didn’t have a washer and dryer.  Out of the blue our realtor called us and said he had a set that were used, but in good condition and we could have them–for free.  Only God!

The blessings of our children–delivered safely when there were potentially life-threatening circumstances that were unknown to us at the time.  Only God!

One of my favorite entries is the time we moved to our 3rd home.  The previous owners had left a large amount of trash; more than the garbage company was required to pick up.  Our oldest son, who was 5 years old at the time, prayed and asked God to have the garbage company come and take it all away.  They did!  Only God would grow a child’s faith in such a tangible, visible way like that!

In the Old Testament there is a place called Ebenezer (see 1 Samuel 4:1-11 and 5:1, 7:12).  An Ebenezer generally describes a place that marks where God moved or helped His people.  It was common for the Israelites to take stones and make an altar to commemorate where God had “shown up” in a mighty way.  These altars were Ebenezers to testify of God’s goodness.

As I updated my Blessings Book with the news of a generous raise I was reminded of so many ways God moved within our family. I was writing my own Ebenezer.

Maybe this tradition of writing down all of the blessings that God has given to you and your family would be a good one to start this new year.  Then when you gather at the end of 2012 you can see how faithful God really is in your life.

Count your blessings, name them one by one,
Count your blessings, see what God hath done!
Count your blessings, name them one by one,
*Count your many blessings, see what God hath done.
[*And it will surprise you what the Lord hath done.] 

~~Count Your Blessings by Johnson Oatman, Jr.

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Blessings

  1. What a precious journal and legacy this will be for your family. It is so good (and helpful!) to find ways of remembering God’s goodness and faithfulness to us. I heard one speaker say that she keeps a word document that whenever God does something to bless her, provide for her needs etc. she records it in the document – but I love the idea of having a journal devoted to that purpose! Think I might have to start one for our family…

Leave a Reply

