Trust

Trust |trəst| verb [ trans. ]

believe in the reliability, truth, ability, or strength of I should never havetrusted her [ trans. he can be trusted to carry out an impartial investigation[as adj. ( trusted) a trusted adviser.

This morning when I read Psalm 33 I was struck by the way trust played into the psalmist’s relationship with God.

As I read the psalm I thought about all of the things that mankind has put their trust in; kings, money, strength, power, possessions.  All in vain.  “But the eyes of the LORD are on those who fear him, on those whose hope is in his unfailing love, to deliver them from death and keep them alive in famine (vs. 18-19).”

Our economy is in turmoil, our leaders cannot seem to work together, there is discord in the home, in industry, every where.  There is nothing to trust in that is stable or secure–except the LORD.   He will not fail.

“We wait in hope for the LORD; he is our help and our shield.  In him our hearts rejoice, for we trust in his holy name.  May your unfailing love rest upon us, O LORD, even as we put our hope in you (vs. 20-22).”

I am reminded of the precious hymn written by Louisa M. R. Stead.   It was written while trying to process the “why” after her husband drown saving their 4 year old daughter.  I had this song played when my bridesmaids entered at my wedding.  It was my declaration of faith and my testimony to all He had done.

“‘Tis So Sweet to Trust in Jesus

’Tis so sweet to trust in Jesus,
Just to take Him at His Word;
Just to rest upon His promise,
And to know, “Thus says the Lord!”

Refrain

Jesus, Jesus, how I trust Him!
How I’ve proved Him o’er and o’er
Jesus, Jesus, precious Jesus!
O for grace to trust Him more!

O how sweet to trust in Jesus,
Just to trust His cleansing blood;
And in simple faith to plunge me
’Neath the healing, cleansing flood!

Refrain

Yes, ’tis sweet to trust in Jesus,
Just from sin and self to cease;
Just from Jesus simply taking
Life and rest, and joy and peace.

Refrain

I’m so glad I learned to trust Thee,
Precious Jesus, Savior, Friend;
And I know that Thou art with me,
Wilt be with me to the end.

Refrain

May this hymn be your declaration and testimony as well.

 

 

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

