Control

Yup.  Control is one of those words that almost fits in the “four-letter word” category.   I have shared that I am a bit of a control freak.  I like order and structure and things to go “just so.”

Life however, does not do anything of the sort.  I cannot get others to do what I want them to do–I cannot even get my dogs to do what I want them to do.  I struggle with watching others make decisions that I know aren’t the best ones or complicate a situation instead of streamline it.

Scripture talks of the ways that God is in charge of all of creation.  Job is reminded of God’s power in chapter 38 when God challenges Job to answer His questions about where Job was when the earth was formed.  Job obviously was not in control.

Or go to Isaiah 40:13-14 and see similar questions posed.   “Who has understood the mind of the LORD, or instructed him as his counselor? Whom did the LORD consult to enlighten him, and who taught him the right way? Who was it that taught him knowledge or showed him the path of understanding?” In other words, I am not in control.

But there is a place in the Bible that talks about my control; Galatians 5:22-23.  I am to bear the fruit of the Spirit.  Love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control.

I am to exercise SELF control. I am to grow myself after the way that Christ lived.  He was all of the adjectives that describe the fruit of the Spirit.

So I there is something I can control.

Myself.  It isn’t a nation or all of creation, but it is the most important thing I will ever control.

 

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in growing pains and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

