Prayer– on the threshold of blessing

Today I drew the line in the sand, put my stake in the ground, and declared, “I’ve had all I can stands, I can’t stands no more!!” Only, I didn’t pull out my can of spinach al a Popeye.

Instead, I pulled out the “Sword of the Spirit that is the Word of God.”  I walked through my house, anointing every doorpost and doorway with oil and praying over every room.  The enemy has had too much “room” in my house lately and I served his eviction notice today.

For my outer doors I prayed that whoever came through them would find peace, joy, and love within the house.

The Kitchen:  that whatever food was made there would provide nourishment and life to our family.  That there would be unity and joy in the kitchen and that it would come through the food we served.

The Dining Room: in our house it’s the only eating table–I prayed for the people who gathered at the table to be encouraged, to find joy and laughter, and unity at the table.  I anointed each chair with oil and prayed for the people who usually sat at each place.

The Living Room:  That when the family gathered they would be drawn to each other and not separated by the computer or the television but knit together more as a family.  That the room would truly encourage Life.

The Study: that the family pictures on the wall would remind them of the blessing of family, the pictures of our wedding day would remind us of our commitment to each other, that our college diplomas on the wall would remind us of the skills we had acquired and that we would use them for His purposes.

The Book Room (the front living room): This room is used more as a Prayer Room than any other. It’s where the boys and I pray each morning and I have my quiet time. On the door I anointed it twice–a double portion, that the prayers in that room would be multiplied by 100x and not return void.  Scripture promises this.

The stairs: going up I prayed that as we walked up we would choose to walk in the way of Christ.  Heavenly focused on His Father’s business. When I came down I prayed we would remember we were called to serve each other.

Younger son’s room: That he would find peace and comfort as he slept there.  Also for protection from any nightmares (an issue in early childhood).

Older son’s room: That he would not allow divisive behavior in his life, but seek first God and His plan for his life.  That he would honor God by obedience.

My bedroom: I prayed that the enemy would not divide my husband and myself, but instead that we would be drawn together to each other.  I prayed over the closet, that any past issues we would have would not be kept in secret and hiding, I asked that they be brought out into the Light that we would have healing.

The toy room: that the joy and fun would knit the boys together.

My mother-in-law’s room:  that she would know the Joy of the Lord and rejoice in His freeing love and redemption.

Over the bathrooms I prayed that as we cleaned our teeth and our bodies that we would remember that we are cleansed by the blood of the Lamb.

My pantry: that the food stored within would bring life and strength to our family.

The basement: that as it stored our stuff it would not be used as a place to hide things, but that what was hidden would be brought out into the Light.

Closets: that the enemy would not be able to keep things in secret, but that the doors would be wide open letting all see what is inside.

Over the computers and television: that what we looked at would not be divisive, unholy, or evil, but used for God’s good purposes and for the gaining of knowledge and wisdom. Not as a place to escape or run away, and that they would not become an idol.  If they had become an idol that they would lose that position.

This house is God’s house–just like Church is God’s house.  I need to remember to treat them both the same.

“The Lord bless you and keep you, The Lord make His face shine upon you and be gracious unto you, The Lord lift up His countenance upon you and give you His peace (Numbers 6:24-26).”

Amen.

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Prayer– on the threshold of blessing

  1. It’s hard to find knowledgeable people on this topic, but you sound like you know what you’re talking about! Thanks

Leave a Reply

