The Hard Things

I have something to admit… I struggle with keeping my perspective.  When I have a problem I struggle with keeping it between God and me.  I want to talk about what’s bothering, complain about it, even whine.  It’s a nasty habit.

My heart, okay–my pride wants to prove that I am in the right.  It’s not that I cannot be wrong, I would just prefer to be right.

It’s not the best side of me.  It’s actually one of my worse sides.

When I catch myself in this cycle of whine I first feel mad at myself for doing it again.  Then, I do the very thing I should have done in the beginning–talk with God about what I am feeling.

I need to remember Psalm 62:1 which says, “My soul finds rest in God alone; my salvation comes from him.  He alone is my rock and my salvation; he is my fortress, I will never be shaken.”  And then verse 8, “Trust in him at all times, O people; pour out your hearts to him, for God is our refuge. Selah.”

Selah means “to think on this for a while.”  I will do just that.  And if you hear me whining please remind me to go to My Refuge.  He’ll know what to do.

 

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in growing pains and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Hard Things

  1. This reads like a page out of my journals – one of my favourite scriptures and one of my hardest things too. Joyce Meyer says go to the throne before you go to the phone – how I wish I always did! Bless you.

Leave a Reply

