Hymns, songs and spiritual songs

The front room of our house is the classic sitting room or parlor for a farmhouse.  It has a wide front window that looks out on the large lilac bush.  It is also where the boys and I go to pray in the morning before school and where I do my quiet time.

I have a deep love of old books.  I especially love to find old hymnals.  They’re kind of a church history, which songs were popular, which ones keep returning, that sort of thing.

This morning I found myself drawn to the hymnal The Voice of Thanksgiving vol. 4; published by the Moody Bible Institute of Chicago in 1928. It is full of the classic hymns; Amazing Grace, A Mighty Fortress,  and the like.  But I have also found some sweet hymns that maybe not as well known.

How Firm a Foundation, Great is Thy Faithfulness, Crown Him with Many Crowns, may be familiar to some.  But what about the hymn, My Anchor Holds,  or His Eye is on the Sparrow ?  Each of these hymns have words that draw me in, fill me up, and remind me that my faith in God is well placed.


Why should I feel discouraged, Why should the shadows come, Why should my heart be lonely, And long for heaven and home, When Jesus is my portion? My constant friend is He: His eye is on the sparrow and I know He watches me…I sing because I’m happy, I sing because I’m free, His eye is on the sparrow and I know He watches me.” 

I don’t know your situation today, but I know WHO knows all about it.  Find a hymnal, even if you cannot carry a tune in a bucket or wheelbarrow, read the words, let them fill you up and encourage you.

What a Friend We Have in Jesus is a great hymn to start with if you aren’t sure where to begin.  You can check out http://www.cyberhymnal.org which also gives background on the writer of the hymn.

Enjoy!  “I sing because I’m happy, I sing because I’m free, His eye is on the sparrow and I know He watches me.”

And you.

 

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hymns, songs and spiritual songs

  1. Andrew says:

    Glad to know there are others out there who love hymns. I especially love ones that are based on passages of scripture, like the Psalms. The Trinity Psalter is a great resource, and Spurgeon, in the hymnal organized for his church, has several hymns for each Psalm.
    CCEL (http://www.ccel.org/) is a great resource to find old hymns. John Newton, Isaac Watts, collections from the early church, and more are all in their resource section.
    Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

