Real vs. Counterfeit

The more I learn of the love God has for me the more I realize that I spent too much time in my early years believing the lies told to me by the Enemy.

As a young girl I was told that I was precious, wonderful, a treasure, a Pun’kin, and loved. My parents spoke to me with encouraging words and meant every one of them.  I just believed that saying encouraging words were one of the requirements of the “Good Parent Handbook.”

I struggled with the lies that were told to me by my male classmates through the years.  I wish I could say that I ignored their lies– but I bought them hook, line & sinker.  Sink I did; into despair at not being pretty enough, skinny enough, smart enough–whatever they told me was “wrong” with me.

Then in 1990 I met someone who introduced me to Jesus.  Not just the Jesus I met in Sunday School, but the One who loved me, found me precious, wonderful, a treasure, and beautiful.  The One who offered Grace that would cover all my sins.  I accepted Christ in July of 1990.

Since then I have seen what TRUE love looks like.  True Love that wants the best for me and will walk with me as I learn the freedom of being free from the Past and prepare for the purpose and calling God has for me.

I have experienced a wild ride over the last 20+ years with Christ.  I have learned to replace the lies for the Truth.  Sometimes I have needed to learn the lessons a couple of times before they stuck, but I have learned so much about the blessings of letting go of old habits and beginning new, healthy habits.

One of the best examples for me of Real vs. Counterfeit came when I got engaged as a new Christian.  The stone in the engagement ring I received was a Cubic Zirconia.  My fiance at the time thought by giving me a CZ ring it would symbolize that he was serious.  A fake diamond to prove a true relationship? Obviously, the relationship did not last.

When I got engaged to my husband I received an engagement ring.  One with 12 small diamonds totaling a 1/2 carat.  Each one real. Each one representing the promises of a future with my husband to-be.

I’ve never forgotten what real love looks like.  I see it in the face of my husband every day.  I read it in the Bible every morning.  Jeremiah 29:11 says it best: “‘For I know the plans I have for you,’ declares the LORD, ‘plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”

And what a beautiful future I’ve experienced…

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

