Inheritance

“A wise man will leave an inheritance to his children’s children, but a sinner’s wealth is stored up for the righteous.” Proverbs 13:22

I attended my dad’s birthday party this weekend.  It was his 64th, his “Beatles” birthday if you will.  Gathering together with my family is so precious to me.  Maybe because I know it isn’t the norm for many, maybe because it reminds me of the family gatherings I attended as a child.

My family likes to joke and tease and we are not the “quiet and refined set” although we do know how to “behave” when necessary.  Laughter though, is a course of its own at the table.  Just like tossing a roll instead of passing the bread basket has become a tradition (Emily Post would be shocked and appalled I know.)

As I look around the table I see the inheritance we have received from our grandparents and great-grandparents alike.  It is understood that family sticks together, it is understood that when it comes to holidays it isn’t a matter of if  you come, it is a matter of when will you arrive and what will you bring.

As sure as I have red hair like my dad, who got it from his mom, or the fact that my eldest son has the same red hair– we also inherited the stories, the laughter, the way of building up others instead of tearing down.  The way of looking at a person and choosing to meet them where they are instead of waiting for them to meet our expectations.

The proverb above mentions the wealth.  Sure it would be great to inherit wealth from my family some day.  I would be a fool myself to not want that too.  But there is something much more precious and treasured that will be passed on from the wise man to his “children’s children–”  time, laughter, memories, a relationship.

Money will come and go–but family is forever.

That is an inheritance that makes us all rich.

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in reflections and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

