Mirrors

As I continue to study and memorize the book of James, I find myself often peeling back layers to something I thought I knew.  Every verse I put to memory is a new piece to a puzzle I thought I had already put together.

Today I began working on another segment of Chapter one; verses 22-24.  I only have about 3 more verses until the whole chapter is memorized.  It’s rather exciting to realize I can memorize the whole book!!

Today’s verses say, “Do not merely listen to the Word and so deceive yourselves.  Do what it says.  Anyone who listens to the Word and does not do what it says is like the man who looks at his face in the mirror and after looking at himself, goes away and immediately forgets what he looks like.” 

It seems odd to think that someone can look at themselves and then forget what they saw when they turn away.  Then I thought of how many times I have looked at my watch, phone or clock to see what time it was only to forget what I saw.  I think I know what it said, but it did not register.  How true of the God’s Word and Truth in our own lives?

Verse 21 in Chapter 1 says, “Therefore get rid of all moral filth and the evil that is so prevelent  and humbly accept the Word planted in you , which can save you.” So, if I don’t accept the Word that can save me how can I let it impact me?  How can it make a difference in what I think?  What I feel?  How I act toward others? 

I must choose.  I must choose each day to let the Word live, breathe, and move within my life so that I will not be like that man who forgot what he saw in the mirror.  I need to be like the man described in James 1:25, “But the man who looks intently into the perfect law that gives freedom and continues to do this, not forgetting what he has heard, but doing it–he will be blessed in what he does.”

That is what I need to do.  I need to look intently and continue to look intently and not forget what I have heard and actually do what I hear.  Then there will be a blessing. 

Look and keep on looking, listen and do.  Daily, hourly, sometimes by the minute…

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

