Saturday and Sunday

Saturday.  Jesus was dead.  The promises of a better life, a hope for Heaven, a new life; it all died on the Cross with Jesus.

He said He had come to “give life and give it abundantly” (John 10:10), but how could He give a life like that if He couldn’t save His own?

The disciples were in hiding, Peter was distraught after he denied Jesus three times, Jesus’ mother was now without her firstborn son and had been adopted by John a disciple.

The future looked so bleak, so hopeless.  The disciples didn’t know that Sunday was coming. 

As Christians in the 21st century we know the Secret.  We know that Jesus rose from the dead on that first day of the week.   We can celebrate Easter Sunday on any day of the week, including Saturday.

We know that Sunday is coming.  We can celebrate that He is Risen, He is Risen indeed!

As a brand new Christian, celebrating my first Easter as a believer, I heard a song that penetrated my heart.  I share it with you now, in celebration of the Son-day that came…

Rise Again by Dallas Holm

Go ahead, drive the nails in My hands;
Laugh at me… where you stand.
Go ahead, and say it isn’t Me;
The day will come… when you will see.

(Refrain)
‘Cause I’ll rise…. again;
Ain’t no power on earth can keep Me down!
Yes, I’ll rise… again;
Death can’t keep Me in the ground.

Go ahead, mock My name;
My love for you is still the same.
Go ahead, and bury Me;
But very soon, I will be free!

(Refrain)
Go ahead, and say I’m dead and gone,
But you will see that you were wrong.
Go ahead, try to hide the Son;
But all will see that I’m the One!

(Final refrain)
‘Cause I’ll come again!
Ain’t no power on earth can keep me back!
Yes, I’ll come again;
Come to take My people back.

HALLELUJAH!!! HE IS RISEN!!!  SUNDAY IS HERE!!!

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Saturday and Sunday

  1. Nicole says:

    Great post! Congratulations on your first Easter!

Leave a Reply

