Hurdles

My son is on the track team at school.  Watching him at his meets reminds me of when I was in track.  I ran the 100m hurdles.  It seems a million years ago and yet, when I look at the young faces, it seems like yesterday.  Hurdles are part of the process for the event in track and they are part of the events in life.

When a person runs and then clears the hurdle there is a particular form their body should take in clearing it.  One leg bent at the knee, foot pointing back,  the other leg straight ahead, body leaning slightly forward, arm extended over the leg, other arm bent and back.  My track coach would make us practice this position on the ground to get our bodies use to the motion.

As I watched the young athletes clear the hurdles their technique was raw, unfamiliar.  As the track season progresses the students’ technique will get better.  Mine did.  However, the only way it will get better is by clearing more and more hurdles.

I also know that there will be times when the hurdle causes the runner to fall.  When they do fall will they get back up and keep going or will they give up and walk off the track and not complete the race?

That’s just like life.  We “face trials of many kinds” (James 1:2) every day.  Some will sit down and not go any farther, others will rise to the challenge and clear that hurdle and then clear the next one and the next one.

During one race I hit my hurdle with such force that I fell and rolled all the way to the next hurdle.  I was hurt pretty bad, but I got up, cleared the next hurdle and walked across the finish line.  Then and only then, did I sit down and assess the scratches and “track rash” that covered my leg.  But I had finished the race.

How about you?  When you face hurdles and trials will you decide it’s too hard or will you keep running?

See 2 Timothy 4:7 and Hebrews 12:1 for encouragement.

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in growing pains, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hurdles

  1. I like to run through them !

Leave a Reply

