Growing and Changing

I have been challenged a lot lately by the prickly people, but as part of a promise to myself I didn’t want to use this blog as a complaint blog either.

So, as a friend and I say to each other; “Take it to the Throne, not to the phone.”  Which is what I did.  I took my frustration to God instead of whining to others about it.

Sometimes  I find myself really wrestling with a person’s attitude or actions or with a situation I am in at the time.  Instead of calling someone I often have conversations with God in my head, not really prayer, more like a whining of “Why can’t that person do (this instead of that)?” Or, “Why do I have to do this thing (that I don’t want to do) instead of doing (what I want to do)?”

Many times my answers come in the form of, “Because I know more than you do.”  It isn’t the parental phrase of “I told you so.”  It’s more, “Honey, I know it hurts, but that’s part of growing up.”

In James 1: 2-5 James writes that we should, “Consider it pure joy my brothers whenever you face trials of many kinds.  For you know that the testing of your faith develops perseverance and perseverance must finish its work so that you may be made mature and complete, not lacking anything.”  

So, in other words, when I am struggling or wrestling with some trial I should remember that by persevering I will be growing.  Growing into the person God knows I can be and will be IF I continue to go forward in spite of difficulty.

The dictionary describes perseverance this way:

perseverance |ˌpərsəˈvi(ə)rəns|noun  1. steadfastness in doing something despite difficulty or delay in achieving success.

That is what my real desire is–to be steadfast despite difficulty or delay.  Sure, I would rather make people or situations work my way.  But if I did that how would I allow God to grow me and change me into who I am to be?

So, if you see me and I look like I am wrestling with something… pray for me to persevere.  And I will pray for you too.

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in growing pains, Uncategorized, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Growing and Changing

  1. L. Dean Hufsey says:

    As always, Gretchen, the first thing that comes to my mind is….”I really needed that; you are so encouraging”. Keep up the good work. I do so much appreciate your praying for me, and I pray for you and your family.

Leave a Reply

