Thistles

Now that the weather is warmer plants are growing all over my family farm.  I love the wild flox, mustard and clover growing; the way it scents the air as I step outside.  It fills both my lungs and spirit with its fresh, sweet smell.

The other thing about spring is that it means new weeds.  Weeds are a part of life on a farm.  If I wanted I could spend hundreds of dollars each year to buy weed-killer, but that goes against the natural space of our farm.  So instead, I pull the weeds in my vegetable garden and flower garden and let the ones in the yard grow alongside the grass.

That is, until I came across a huge thistle plant as I cut the grass one week.  This thistle was almost 18 inches across, even with the mower running over it I found it would be nearly 10 inches across.  I took the thistle by its base and grabbed it as carefully as I could to pull it out.

As anyone knows, a thistle’s thorns keep people and animals from wanting to get to close. This thistle was no different; even with work gloves on I felt the thorns pricking my hands.  Determined to pull it out, I pushed through the pain and felt great pride once it was free.  I threw the weed on the fire pit where it would eventually be burned.

Weeds are a lot like sin.  If I remove them when they are small it is easier and it doesn’t hurt very much.  But if they are allowed to grow freely they will overtake the healthy plants, crowding out the sunshine and nutrients in the ground.

I need to watch my garden and my life for weeds.  The only way I can do that is to stay on guard.  “Above all else, guard your heart, for it is the wellspring of life (Proverbs 4:23).”

So, I am getting on my work gloves and I am going to work at removing the weeds in my life and in my heart.

If you need a pair of gloves I have some that I can share.  It’s always easier to work at things in life when you have others alongside you.

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thistles

  1. L. Dean Hufsey says:

    Gretchen: Love you essay about thistles! Being an old farm boy, I can remember some of my experiences with thistles! You ‘painted such beautiful word pictures here’ [see, maybe because I am so simple minded I over use cliches or over work simple meaningful expressions]…but your ‘word pictures’ are so clear! especially about getting rid of the thistles (and the parallel sins), while they are small!!! very profound and encouraging!!!! Keep up the Good work!
    Blessing on You, Dean

    and, HAPPY MOTHER’S DAY!

Leave a Reply

