Storms of Praise

I have seen some amazing, powerful storms in my life.  Thunderheads that threaten to remove the very mountaintops they hang over.

Prairie storms that you can see for miles before they actually arrive with all of their rain and lightning to soak the fields.

Then there are storms that don’t bring the actual rain, but it feels like you are caught in a gully-washer.  Storms that bring all sorts of distortion, uncertainty, and power that seems unleashed upon you without any power of your own to stop them.

My husband and I have been experiencing a gully-washer for a while now.  Relationally, we are ok, but circumstances surrounding us and our family seem ready to wash away everything.

And yet…

God is here.  God provides an umbrella for us, for you too.  Psalm 91.  Psalm 91 is full of storms, trials, troubles, calamity–and yet it says, “He will cover you with his feathers and under His wings you will find refuge (verse 4).”  And later it says, “No harm will befall you and no disaster will come near your tent.  For He will command His angels concerning you to guard you in all of your ways, they will lift you up in their hands that you will not strike your foot on a stone (verses 10-12).”

While camping, I have seen storms literally tear the tent next to mine from the ground, but my tent stood unharmed.  I have watched our ducks nuzzle each other and gather themselves under their wings for protection.

God gives me proof (in case I doubted) that He will care for me.  “The one who lives under the protection of the Most High dwells (abides, lives) in the shadow of the Almighty (Ps 91:1 HCSB).”

Casting Crowns wrote a song called Praise You in the Storm.  I am choosing to do just that, even in this storm, right now.  God gathers me up and gives me protection.  He will deliver me, honor me, protect me, rescue me; Psalm 91 says He will do this (see verses 14 & 15).

So I will praise Him.

“And I’ll praise You in this storm
And I will lift my hands
For You are who You are
No matter where I am
And every tear I’ve cried
You hold in Your hand
You never left my side
And though my heart is torn
I will praise You in this storm.”

~Casting Crowns Praise You in the Storm

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

