Construction Ahead

Under Construction.   Road Closed.   Detour Ahead.   Drive with Caution.  Expect Delays.

 

Construction signs are everywhere.  My entire route to work has road construction of some kind or another. Repaving, sewer work, widening of the lanes, all of this seems to be happening at once.

My life can seem like it is under construction too. How will I respond to the “Work Area?”   Just like when I see the signs on the roads as I drive, I can chose to take another path or I can chose to follow the road signs, even if it takes me on a detour.

Repaving in my life means getting rid of the potholes and the broken places and repairing them, restoring them, so they are new and fresh; ready for long term use and travel.

Sewer work: that is where the “junk” and “yuck” that I would prefer people to not see at all has to be cleared out, new fixtures, piping, etc., must be put in so that I am not stuck and “clogged” with things that must be removed.

Widening of the lanes: do you know the” Prayer of Jabez” in 2 Chronicles 4:8?  I have been praying that on and off lately.  Widening my lanes includes expanding the territory of my influence (with God’s help).  It also reminds me that I am not a “lone ranger” on this journey of Faith and I must include others as I travel.

One of my favorite verses in the Old Testament is, “Stand at the crossroads and look; ask for the ancient paths, ask where the good way is and walk in it, and you will find rest for your souls” (Jeremiah 6:16).  I love the “ask where the good way is” part, because it reminds me that I need help and sometimes I need to ask for directions.

As a young child I would listen to the Gaithers; one of only a few contemporary Christian artists in the mid-1970s.  One of their songs was called “Kids Under Construction.”

I still find myself singing it 30+years later.  The chorus says, “We’re kids under construction, maybe the paint is still wet.  We’re kids under construction, the Lord might not be finished yet.

There is such encouragement in this song… Even at 40+ years old, I am still being molded and made into His image.  Maybe I need to wear a sign or two that reminds others I am not yet finished.

Philippians 1:6 says, “being confident in this, that He Who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the  day of Christ Jesus.”

One day I will be complete. But until then I am “Under Construction.”

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in growing pains and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

