My hope

This past Sunday our pastor shared a message based on Luke 24:13-35, On The Road to Emmaus.

The setting is the afternoon of Resurrection Sunday.  Two people are walking along the road discussing all that had happened during the past week when Jesus appears.  He keeps His identity hidden from them, instead asking what they are talking about.  The people are stunned that He is not aware of all that had happened.

The couple say to Jesus, “but we had hoped that he was the one who was going to redeem Israel (Luke 24:13).” 

They had hoped.

Hope.  It’s that word that says,”I’m not going to give up, give in, stop trying, or quit believing.”  Hope is what keeps the front porch light on for the wayward child. It’s what keeps the husband from deciding the marriage is too far gone to keep trying.  Hope is what gets the researcher into the lab everyday as he or she looks for a cure.

Hope.  It’s a life preserver and a life encourager.

The couple didn’t know they were telling Jesus all about His ministry, until He sat with them at table and broke bread with them.  Once He was recognized by the couple He disappeared from their sight.  Immediately the couple went back to Jerusalem to find the disciples to tell them they had seen Jesus.

How their Hope was built up, filled to overflowing by being in His presence.

Even in the face of so much unknown in my personal journey I can hope, believe and trust that Jesus is with me.  I can call out to Him and He will answer me and no matter what, my situation is not hopeless  because with Jesus I am always hope-full and hope filled.

Romans 15:13 says, “May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.” 

I don’t know about you, but for me I can know that tomorrow will be better than today.  I know that whatever I face will not be bigger than my God.

One of my favorite hymns says it all,

My hope is built on nothing less
Than Jesus Christ, my righteousness;
I dare not trust the sweetest frame,
But wholly lean on Jesus’ name.”

Where do you lean?

 

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

