He who has ears

There are times when I am so certain that I have heard God’s voice, it would seem He was standing right beside me.  There are other times when He seems so silent I might as well be hearing impaired.

This past Sunday God was not just right beside me, He was in front of me and behind me too.  Our pastor spoke of some volunteer opportunities with the Student Ministries part of our church and it felt like someone had attached strings to my heart and was pulling with all of his might.  I had to go to the meeting after services were over to learn more.

My heart has always been soft toward junior high and high school aged students.  It’s part of the reason my teaching degree focuses on secondary education.  When I was in that season of my life my folks had their own business.  They did the best the could with what they had, but for me, I needed more.  More time with them, more positive attention, more affirmation that I had value and a purpose.  My mom would tell me positive things about myself but I didn’t believe her.  Her positive words could not combat against the negative I heard from others all day at school.  I needed someone who would come alongside me and listen, be there, and pour into me.

I have sat in other services and heard the person announce a need, but I never moved.  This time it felt like someone was moving my legs for me and pushing me from behind, almost as if I were on a cart and being rolled into the office.  I went into the office with such momentum that I hit the doorknob.

As I tried to tell Tara, the head of Student Ministries what was on my heart, I started to cry.  It was like I had found my place at last.  She smiled as I tried to pull myself together and said, “You have to be here.”  Yes, I thought, yes I do.

My heart was listening on Sunday and now I  am in the process of getting forms filled out, background checks done, and hopefully setting up a meeting as well with Tara, one-on-one.  I was listening and now I can move forward.

That’s the thing about ears… We have them, but are we listening? If you are listening are you also acting on it?

James 1:23-25 says, ” Anyone who listens to the Word, but does not do what it says is like the  man who looks at his face in the mirror and,  after looking at himself, goes away and immediately forgets what he looks like.  But the man who looks intently into the perfect law that gives freedom, and continues to do this, not forgetting what he has heard, but doing it–he will be blessed in what he does.”

Are you listening and forgetting or are you listening and doing?

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

