Wide open

A while back I wrote about construction. At the time it seemed that every road I drove on was under some form of construction or another. Well, the roads are open now, wide open and available for all forms of traffic, not just construction machinery.

What does this mean? As I drove on a road that had been recently opened I wondered if it was symbolic of my life in anyway. Was it as if my opportunities were wide open where they once were confined and restricted? I don’t know.

If I were to be living a life like the road I was on, what would it mean? As a believer I want to be wide open to what the Lord has planned. I wish I could say that I am like that all the time. Not even close. I throw up my own road blocks and dig up areas that don’t need to be reworked.

I am sometimes my own trouble maker. When it comes to making plans and knowing how to and where to go, I need to leave it up to God. He has the best plans every time.

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you. Plans to give you a hope and a future (Jeremiah 29:11).”

Who’s in charge of your road map?

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in growing pains, reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

