Warning

This week while I had the opportunity to help one of the Prickly People in my life, as well as an opportunity to compliment them about a skill they had.  The PP responded with a sincere, “thank you.”  I smiled because I did mean what I had said. 

And then I heard a whisper in my ear, “Instead of praying for a friend for —, be one.” 

Ouch.  I felt like I had been “thwapped” on the back of my head from the Holy Spirit.  I had been praying that God would send someone to befriend this PP so that they had a person they could talk with about whatever.  Instead, I found out I was supposed to be the answer to my own prayer. 

It wasn’t the first time I had this experience either.  More than 15 years ago I prayed for a friend’s future wife and for my future husband.   I prayed for his future wife to have grace, mercy, and patience and for my future husband to be a true man of God.  Less than 18 months after I prayed these prayers I found out that I was the answer.  When I prayed for our future spouses I was actually praying for us!

God has a way of answering prayers in ways that we never would have imagined.  So be careful what you pray for— you just might be answer God has in mind.

“Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us (Ephesians 3:20).”

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

