Fragrance

I have a sweet friend whom I met in a Bible study.  When we cross paths she truly wants to know what has been going on with me since we saw each other last.  If there is a situation requiring prayer she doesn’t say, “I’ll pray about it.” She actually stops what she is doing and puts her arm around me and prays.  Not just a quick, “Lord, help my friend,” either.  She truly prays for me, for wisdom for the situation, whatever is needed. 

Afterwards, when we go on our separate ways the smell of her perfume lingers.  It reminds me of Ephesians 5:2, “and walk in the way of love, just as Christ loved us and gave himself up for us as a fragrant offering and sacrifice to God.”  My friend’s prayers are a fragrant offering before the Lord.  In Philippians 4:18 Paul speaks of the offerings and gifts given to him as being a “fragrant offering, an acceptable sacrifice, pleasing to God.

As the Israelites were building the Tabernacle they were instructed to build an altar for burning incense. It was placed in front of the curtain that separated the people from the ark of the Testimony.  It was here that Aaron was supposed to make an incense offering in the morning and the evening.  This offering was described as a fragrant offering before the Lord.  (See Exodus 30 for more information).

I want to offer up a sweet fragrance and sweet spirit too.  Sometimes I succeed, other times I don’t.  But it still is my desire to make those I am near sorry I left, not grateful.

So, how about you?  What kind of fragrance lingers after you leave?

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in growing pains, reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

