Identity Theft

While teaching our high school small group on Sunday, my co-leader wanted to help the girls understand that Jesus took on our sins and therefore when we pray we can pray in His righteousness.
My co-leader put sticky notes on her clothes that said “sin” all over them. On another set of sticky notes she wrote “righteousness” and put them on my flannel over shirt. Then we exchanged shirts. She now was covered by Jesus’ righteousness and Jesus took on her sin.

Today as I drove to school I passed a church that was announcing an “identity theft” class. It suddenly dawned on me, Jesus was an identity thief! Reading Isaiah 53 tells me that, “he took on our pain and bore our suffering” (Isaiah 53:4).

Jesus took on all my junk, my sin, my failings, and covered them with His holiness and purity. In 2 Corinthians 5:17 we read that we have become a new creation, “the old has gone, the new has come” and later on in verse 21, “God made him who had no sin, to be sin for us, that we might become the righteousness of God.”

Isn’t that amazing? Jesus took my identity so that I could learn to identify with God through what Jesus had done for me on the cross.

Hallelujah!

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

