Identity Crisis

This morning did not start out the best way.  I woke up an hour late, had conflict with my sons and even my hubby, then left for work only to find I had left my cell phone at home.  I had a conference call to make today so I had to turn around and go get it.  I finally made it to work with barely a minute to spare. 

As I drove to work fretting that I would be late, I found myself thinking, “Is this the way I should be feeling?  If I am the child of God I say I am, shouldn’t I be more trusting?”  I was struggling with an identity crisis. 

My mind was running on the hamster wheel while my spirit was struggling to find peace. Philippians 4:6-7 says, “Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.  And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.”  If I am trusting God, then shouldn’t I have peace?

The enemy loves to whisper in my ear all of the negative things I have done.  He loves to remind me of who I was, so I will forget who I am.  Forget that I belong to I Am.   If I forget that I have my name engraved on the palm of God’s hand (Isaiah 49:16), that God says I am, “fearfully and wonderfully made” (Psalm 139: 14) or that I am “God’s handiwork” (Ephesians 2:10) then the enemy wins the battle.

I need to remember that according to 2 Corinthians 5:17 I am a new creation in Christ. “Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, the new creation has come:The old has gone, the new is here!” 

So, will I have identity crises in the future? Maybe.  But when the enemy wants to challenge me about my worth and who I am, I will be ready.  My quiver is now full of arrows of Truth that I can aim back at him when he shoots “fiery darts” at me (Ephesians 6: 16). 

Crisis now averted.  Hallelujah!

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in growing pains, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Identity Crisis

  1. L. Dean Hufsey says:

    I’ve been away from any computer since 4 p. m. today, until now. Just now got the chance to read about your challenging day today. Some times I think I’m the only one who has a day like yours today. But, I know I am not.
    Thanks for sharing with us. Your thoughts are always so uplifting and encouraging. Bless you my little sister.

    Dean

Leave a Reply

