Grit, trials, and overcooked broccoli

After posting about the blessings I received last week I have been thinking about grit, tenacity, perseverance and the like.

Consider it pure joy my brothers, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith develops perseverance. Perseverance must finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything,” James 1: 2-4.  It doesn’t say, “Whine, complain, make everyone around you miserable, while you sit in the muck and have a pity party because life is hard.”  

Could you imagine what kind of Christians we would be?  We’d be like overcooked broccoli.  Slimy, lacking flavor, and only good for a compost pile.

Trials are a way of life for everyone.  Some rise to the challenge and embrace the grit and come out stronger and more beautiful on the other side; a lot like a pearl.  Others focus so much energy on the tiny piece of discomfort that they never learn from the experience.  Often they sit in their discomfort and tell everyone about their problem instead of finding a solution.

Scripture is clear, “In this world you will have trouble,” (John 16:33b).  Difficulty comes, Jesus said so.  However, the verses that surround the one above give us hope. “I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace.  In this world you will have trouble.  But take heart! I have overcome the world,”  (John 16:33–all).

I don’t want to leave a legacy of an overcooked broccoli kind of life.  I want to leave a legacy of True Victory.  Victory over the little things, victory over the big things. Not because of some great thing I have done, but because I chose to persevere during trials and let Jesus be Victor in my life.

So here I will stand.  Ready for the grit, ready for the battle, armed with the Sword of the Spirit and the Shield of Faith (see Ephesians 6: 13-17) and the truth that comes from Jesus’ own mouth, “Take heart!  I have overcome the world.”

Now that is the kind of broccoli I can sink my teeth into!!!

 

 

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in growing pains, Uncategorized, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

