need

I have found myself feeling depleted lately.  Too much time spent “doing,” not enough time spent “being.”  In the car today, I realized that I felt more like it was the end of the day than the beginning.  I was tired and still facing a 10-hour day.  I sighed, and closed my eyes, “Father God, You will have to help me today to find the balance I will need.” 

My faith is the one and only thing that seems to keep my day together.  I lean on songs from the worship time at church and sing them with complete abandon–believing every word.   “Oh my God, He will not delay, my refuge and strength always, I will not fear His promise is true,  my God will come through, always, always” (Kristian Stanfill~ Always) is one of my favorites.   

My “need” list is simple.  I need God.  I need His wisdom, His strength, His love, His mercy, and His grace every day –every minute of my life.  Scripture is clear, I just have to come to Him. 

 “And my God will meet all your needs according to his glorious riches in Christ Jesus” (Philippians 4:19 NIV1984). 

Note that the verse doesn’t say “all my wants” it says “all my needs.”  God knows better than me what I really need in my life.  My wants can change from moment to moment.  I am grateful for an omnipotent God who is wiser than me and gives me exactly what I need and nothing more. 

Thank you, God for your indescribable gifts (2 Corinthians 9:15).

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in growing pains, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to need

  1. journeyofjoy says:

    How earnest! This line ministered to me most — “My “need” list is simple. I need God. I need His wisdom, His strength, His love, His mercy, and His grace every day –every minute of my life”. God’s best!

Leave a Reply

