Still, I will trust

Many of us were shocked and saddened by the events in Connecticut last Friday. As a mother and a teacher my heart was torn again and again by the loss and sorrow expressed by the Newtown community.
As a believer, I find myself having to trust what I do not understand. I know God is for us, He loves us and has a plan for us. I do not doubt that for a minute. But how do I explain my faith to those who think God should have stopped the violence before it started?
In 1999, my young family and I were living in Lakewood, Colorado, less than 20 minutes from Columbine High School. We attended church with families and students and mourned with the community as they wrestled with “what went wrong” in the minds of the young men who killed their classmates, a teacher, and themselves. No answer could take away the empty chair, the quiet bedroom, the loss of dreams for the future.
The only piece of hope the families could cling to was that this world is not permanent. We are living a life that is only for a moment here on Earth. We will never be satisfied with the answers to our “why” questions, but there will come a day when God will “wipe away every tear from our eyes” (Revelation 7:17) and “there will be no more death or mourning or crying or pain, for the old order of things has passed away” (Revelation 21:4).

My faith sustains me. I will continue to trust in the God who knows the end from the beginning (see Isaiah 46:10). I will pray it is the same for you.

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in growing pains, reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

