Faith and works

Today my sons and I did some errands.  As we drove down the road we passed a man walking, wearing only a heavy sweatshirt for a coat. Living in the Midwest means cold, frigid temperatures in the winter.  A few moments later we drove by again and I prayed that God would keep him warm and safe as he walked along.

I turned onto the next road only to hear clearly, “Suppose a brother or sister is without clothes and daily food. If one of you says to him, ‘Go, I wish you well; keep warm and well fed,’ but does nothing about his physical needs what good is it?” (James 2:15-16).

I drove on, but felt pricked by the verse.  I asked my boys what they thought about going to see if the man needed a ride somewhere. They both agreed that we should go back.

When we found the man, he was pleasant and appreciated the offer, but said he was fine. I asked if he was sure, he said he was, so I wished him a Merry Christmas and we went on our way.

I told the boys about how my mom would always stop for those who were stranded on the side of the road. Many times the people were struggling financially and my mom would go to the grocery store and get them food. It was a life lesson I never forgot. Always help those in need.

My words will say I am a believer but if my actions don’t match those words then “what good is it?” 

“In the same way, faith by itself, if it is not accompanied by action, is dead” (James 2:17).

May my faith always be alive and active.

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in growing pains, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

