Dress up

Getting ready for church this morning I realized that the clothes I chose to wear were a reflection of what I planned on doing at church. I wasn’t dressed in my “Sunday best” with a skirt, blouse, hose and heels. Instead, I put on my jeans, hiking boots, sweatshirt and baseball cap. I came dressed ready to work.

Sunday mornings are a time when I get to hear from my pastor and I learn how to apply what he is challenging or encouraging us as a congregation to be a part of for the next week, or longer. Dressed as I am, it is a reminder that my walk with God is not to be done in “pretty” shoes that only come out for others to see how put together I might be–especially when I am not.

I am wearing work boots because I want to move and change and learn and grow in my faith. My faith is something that is a complete and permanent part of my life. I want to honor God and grow in my faith daily. The best way I can remind myself what I should be doing is to dress for the part. Even at church. Especially at church.

Forgetting what is behind and straining on toward what is ahead, I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus“ (Philippians 3:13b-14).

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dress up

  1. Jessica says:

    What an encouragement your blog is! Thank you. This post really spoke to me. I look forward to reading more.

Leave a Reply

