Uncomfortable

As believers in the United States, we have been challenged with many events that have brought us to our knees in the past week. Bombings, loss, injury, explosions, shootings, sorrow, confusion. Now I could put a Scriptural band-aid on these events and say with a dismissing shrug, “Well, the Bible did say we would have trouble.” However, these events are not things that should be dismissed.

When crises come into our lives we, as believers, are called to meet the challenge. This can come through a variety of ways; giving blood like many marathon runners did in the moments after the bombings, praying for the injured, giving first-aid, gathering donations, or like many in the Boston area– I could open my home to allow people to gather in community to comfort one another.

But what if the crises aren’t covered on the evening news? What if it comes as a quick text message late at night to pray for someone, or a note taped to a wall that tells others of a serious need in a small, close-knit community? How should we respond?

I struggle with becoming indifferent, even apathetic, to the needs of those around me. In our fallen world we will always be presented with opportunities to pray for others or meet the needs of those who are hurting. The question is will we?

Will we step up to meet the challenge? Will we come alongside the ones who cannot stand on their own in their pain, loss, anger, struggles?

Scripture does tell us “there will be trouble” (John 16:33). But Scripture also tells us to “pray for one another” (James 5:16) and we are to “bear one another’s burdens” (Galatians 6:2) keeping in mind that “God our Savior, daily bears our burdens” (Psalm 68:19).

When I see pain, hurt and suffering in the world I want to feel discomfort, not apathy. I want to join those who are hurting in their pain and help them through it. Now, I know I am not to fly to every country or city when I see a need, but I can pray for people who are there to rise up and help. When troubles do cross my path and there are people who will be in need near me, then I can rise up and meet their need and ease their discomfort.

We were called to be a community of believers and with that calling comes the requirements to hold each other up.

If you are in need of being held up and do not think you can turn to someone call 1-888-NEED-HIM or 1-800-273-TALK or 1-800-394-4673. You were never meant to be alone.

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in growing pains, reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

