Community

imageIn previous posts I’ve mentioned that I live on a farm. My husband and I raise ducks and geese. We recently added 17 chicks which were hatched by the 5th grade class at my school. My family has had a wonderful time laughing at the chicks’ antics and marveling at the differences between chickens, ducks and geese. This week, a 5th grade student’s mother contacted me regarding the chick her son brought home. It seems that the farm supply store employee told her that it wasn’t good for the chick to be without other chicks. After further discussion, the mother decided she would bring the chick to me so I could add it to the others at our farm. You see, chickens were created for community. Now, those who are familiar with livestock and such could have seen this coming. My husband did; so did my father, who also grew up on a farm. This need for community reminded me of a verse in Hebrews, “Let us not give up meeting together, as some are in the habit of doing, but let us encourage one another–and all the more as you see the Day approaching” (Hebrews 10:25). Community brings encouragement, which literally means “to pour courage into.” A person will find it very hard to encourage his or herself over and over again. However, if that person has friends around them to cheer them on, it is much easier for a person to go forward. Just like spectators watching a race encourage the runners. King Solomon, who is often called the wisest man in history, said in Ecclesiastes, “Two are better than one, because they have a good return for their work: If one falls down, his friend can help him up. But pity the man who falls and has no one to help him up!” (Ecclesiastes 4:9, 10). If the wisest man knew the importance of community and even the chicken, arguably one of the most foolish farm animals, knows the importance of community, then shouldn’t we, who were created in God’s image (Genesis 1:27), seek community??

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Community

  1. lexiedache says:

    This past season of my life has been a HUGE lesson in community. Love reading this post! I’m a city girl but if I’m ever on a farm you can bet I’ll be impressing people around me with my knowledge about chickens and what we can learn from them about community 😉

    Thanks for posting!

  2. Jessica says:

    Very nice and so true. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

