Weeds

I have been working on my garden for weeks. My wonderful husband planted the seeds and now I am weeding.

It was easy at first, the weeds were small, the dirt was dry and easy to manage. I was proud of my beginning; then it rained for five days straight. We had over 2 1/2 inches of rain that fed every plant in sight. My garden now looked more like my yard, instead of my garden.

I took tomato cages and every other plant cage I could find to mark where the “good plants” were so I could attack the weeds. I am just past the 1/2 way mark in the garden. I still have hours of work before I can move on to the other flower/ garden beds.

As my son and I worked in the garden yesterday, we discussed the weeds and how they were like sin. We can ignore it, cut it down low so it isn’t noticeable, or we can pull it out by its roots. If I just covered the sin up without removing it all, “it wouldn’t help anything,” my son told me.

He was right. I need to remove the sin- even when it is hard, to make sure that the “right” things grow in my life. There are days I don’t want to work in the garden if my heart. Yet, if I remove the junk and then plant, care for, and nurture the good stuff, it will be worth it (see Galatians 5:22-23).

So here’s to dirt under our nails, as we ruthlessly remove the sin and junk that are unhealthy and replace it with the best stuff (see Philippians 4:8).

20130703-122549.jpg

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in growing pains, reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

