Invitations

Every morning I receive an invitation from God. It is engraved with the sun’s first rays of light and written across both the sky and my heart. It’s an invitation to join Him for quiet reflection, prayer, maybe some praise songs.

Yesterday I took that invitation and opened it eagerly. I went for a walk down the lane and found myself drinking in the warmth of the sun, the smell of the hay growing in the field, the songs of the birds in the trees; it was glorious. I could not help but sing God’s praises and bring to Him all of my concerns and burdens for those I love.

Today I opened the invitation more gently, like I held a letter from a lover. I didn’t want to tear the envelope. I wanted to treasure the handwriting, the weight of the letter, each word, each phrase. I wanted each sweet word to soak in and leave its sweet fragrance on me.

I have been singing the words to a Matt Maher song, Lord, I Need You, the past few days and the chorus seems to say best what my heart feels:

Lord, I need You, oh, I need You,
Every hour I need You,
My one defense, my righteous,
Oh God, how I need You

Each invitation that God sends to me is precious. Every morning, every evening, I want to meet Him and spend time with Him.

Then sings my soul, my Savior God to Thee,
How great Thou art, How great Thou art,
Then sings my soul, my Savior God to Thee,
How great Thou art, how great Thou art.

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

