Be

There are times in my life, or the lives of those I love, when painful experiences occur. When what you are facing feels like stepping onto the battlefield with little more than hope for a victory as your armor.

Today is one of those days. Someone I treasure is facing a difficult situation and I feel helpless to defend him.

As I looked over my Facebook newsfeed this morning, someone had posted the words from Joshua 1:9, “Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be terrified; do not be discouraged, for the LORD your God will be with you wherever you go.”

I cried at the simplicity of the words. I have heard them and memorized them and smiled at them, but I have never needed them the way I do today.

All my friend has to do is be. Be still. Trust God. Let Him go before my treasured friend into battle.

I am reminded of the story of David and Goliath. David stepped onto the battlefield ill-equipped to fight Goliath by the soldiers’ standards. Goliath even said. “Am I a dog that you come at me with sticks?” (See 1 Samuel 17:43).
But David didn’t flinch, he knew WHO was on his side. David slew Goliath that day. Not by his own power, but through God’s power in him.

My friend doesn’t have giants to slay, but there is a battle to step into and my prayer for him is to be prepared– not by man, but by God.
My prayer is that he will be strong and courageous and remember that God has him in the palm of his hands.

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in growing pains, reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

