Rest

I have been teaching for almost four weeks now. I love my students, the school, the subject matter I dive into everyday. The adjustment from “summer schedules” to “school schedules,” has however, been hard for me.
I wake early, before the sun, and stay up grading papers until very late. There are still family obligations and farm chores, etc. to fulfill.
In short, I am tired. Not “sick and tired” or fed up- tired, just worn, from too much do and not enough rest.
The verse this morning from a favorite site quoted Jesus saying, “Come to me all who are heavy burdened and I will give you rest.”
I instantly felt heard, understood, rested. Jesus knows how I feel. He is here with me. My spirit and body can relax.
I don’t know what your day looks like or what you are facing: maybe it’s grief, unemployment, maybe a loved one is going to be deployed to Afghanistan soon. Whatever it is, Jesus is there, with you right now, willing to walk beside you and carry the burden for you– if you let Him.
Will you let Him? The second part of the Scripture from Matthew says, “Take my yoke upon you, for my burden is easy and my yoke is light.” So trust Him with whatever you are carrying and find rest for your soul.

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

