Requirements

My sons are quickly growing up. They are at the age of making decisions on their own and telling us the results, not inviting us into the process. They are also at the age where the time I have left with them is shrinking. It has caused me to pray more and think more about the kind of man I want them to become. More importantly — about the man God designed them to become.
“He has shown you, oh man, what is good; and what does the Lord require of you? To act justly, to love mercy and to walk humbly with your God” (Micah 6:8).
I first heard this verse over twenty-three years ago, when a college friend of mine shared it with me. As a new believer then, I needed direction and this verse gave it to me. For my sons, I pray it will help them to know what is most important and what is not.
I know that some of the decisions my sons will make may challenge the way they have been brought up. My prayer for them is that they remember to WHOM they belong. Keeping this truth in mind will help them as they grow.

Acting justly
Loving mercy
Walking humbly with God

Jesus, guide their every step.

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in growing pains, reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

