My story and your story

Throughout my life– from my very conception until now– I have been protected.  God has cared for me, watched over me, kept me safe from real, life-taking harm.  The fact that I drew breath on that day some 40+ years ago, is because God had me in the palm of His hand (see Isaiah 49:6).

I have seen– only through hindsight, how God has watched over me, protecting me in car accidents, from serious injuries, and even walking with me through deep heartache.

As I stood in church praising Him, singing about His power, love, authority, and concern for me, I remembered again that He has loved me “with an everlasting love”  (Jeremiah 31:3).

Taking communion; I sat quietly as the worship leader sang– thinking about how this God who lived in Heaven, who came to Earth to die in my place, taking all of my foolish decisions, my hurtful words, my harmful acts and allowing Himself to be nailed to a Roman cross–for me– FOR ME— I was struck by His awesome love.

I know full well, I don’t deserve this love–the amazing grace– not one little bit.  Yet I felt His love and pride in who I was in His eyes, wash over me and fill me.  I could not help but shout out the words to the next worship song.

I pray you will see yourself as God sees you.  Not as the ever-changing world views you– too little, too much, too few, too many–whatever.   God sees you as precious, prized, valued, and loved, and treasured above all things.  If you don’t believe me, read Ephesians 1:3-8, Psalm 139:1-18, Jeremiah 29:11,  2 Corinthians 6:19-20.  Talk with someone– your pastor, a Christian mentor, someone who knows from personal experience who they are in Christ– who can help you learn who YOU are in Christ.  Then, maybe you can shout and sing these words, like I did on Sunday.

This is Amazing Grace by Phil Wickham

[Verse 1:] Who breaks the power of sin and darkness /Whose love is mighty and so much stronger/ The King of Glory, the King above all kings/ Who shakes the whole earth with holy thunder/ Who leaves us breathless in awe and wonder /The King of Glory, the King above all kings
[Chorus:] This is amazing grace/ This is unfailing love /That You would take my place/ That You would bear my cross/ You would lay down Your life /That I would be set free/ Jesus, I sing for All that You’ve done for me
[Verse 2:] Who brings our chaos back into order/ Who makes the orphan a son and daughter /The King of Glory, the King above all kings
Who rules the nations with truth and justice /Shines like the sun in all of its brilliance /The King of Glory, the King above all kings
[Bridge:] Worthy is the Lamb who was slain/ Worthy is the King who conquered the grave /Worthy is the Lamb who was slain /Worthy is the King who conquered the grave.

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

